Zhou Dynasty Timeline

The Zhou Dynasty was one of the most significant and influential dynasties in ancient Chinese history. It spanned a period of approximately 794 years, making it one of the longest-lasting dynasties in China.

The Zhou Dynasty is traditionally divided into two main periods: the Western Zhou (c. 1046-771 BCE) and the Eastern Zhou (771-256 BCE).

During the Eastern Zhou period, China witnessed profound changes, including the emergence of prominent philosophers like Confucius and the rise of powerful regional states, leading to the Warring States Period.

The dynasty eventually gave way to the Qin Dynasty, which marked the beginning of China’s imperial age.

Throughout its existence, the Zhou Dynasty laid the groundwork for various cultural, political, and philosophical developments that continue to influence Chinese society to this day.

PeriodEvents and Major Developments
Western Zhou (c. 1046-771 BCE)– Battle of Muye: Zhou overthrows Shang Dynasty, King Wu becomes first Zhou king (1046 BCE).
– King Wu dies, King Cheng succeeds him as the new king (1027 BCE).
– King Zhao becomes the king of the Zhou Dynasty (978 BCE).
– King Mu becomes the king of the Zhou Dynasty (957 BCE).
Eastern Zhou (771-256 BCE)– Eastern Zhou period begins after King You’s brutal rule leads to the downfall of the Western Zhou (771 BCE).
– Eastern Zhou capital is established at Luoyi (modern-day Luoyang) (722 BCE).
– Duke Huan of Qi defeats Duke Xiang of Song in the Battle of Mingtiao, establishing the hegemony of the State of Qi (656 BCE).
– Confucius, a prominent Chinese philosopher, is born (544 BCE).
Spring and Autumn Period (771-476 BCE)– A sub-period of the Eastern Zhou characterized by the rise of regional powers and feudal states.
– Significant social and philosophical developments, including the teachings of Confucius.
Warring States Period (475-221 BCE)– Another sub-period of the Eastern Zhou marked by intense warfare and competition among the seven major states.
– The states of Jin, Han, Wei, Zhao, Qi, Chu, and Qin vie for dominance.
– States employ new military and administrative strategies.
– The philosophy of Legalism gains prominence in some states.
Qin Dynasty (221-206 BCE)– Qin Shi Huang unites China, becoming the first emperor of the Qin Dynasty (221 BCE).
– Construction of the Great Wall of China begins (210 BCE)
– The Qin Dynasty collapses due to internal rebellions and discontent (206 BCE).

Timeline of the Zhou Dynasty

(1046–771 BCE) – Western Zhou Dynasty

The Western Zhou Dynasty was established by King Wu of Zhou, who led a successful rebellion against the Shang Dynasty’s ruler, King Zhou. According to traditional Chinese historical accounts, King Wu was aided by his capable brother, the Duke of Zhou.

Also Read: Zhou Dynasty Accomplishments

They managed to defeat the Shang forces in the Battle of Muye, which led to the collapse of the Shang Dynasty.

During the Western Zhou period, the king was the central authority, but the territory was divided into multiple feudal states ruled by nobles who were granted lands and titles in exchange for their loyalty and military support. This feudal system was intended to prevent the concentration of power and ensure stability.

The Western Zhou period witnessed significant cultural and technological advancements, including the development of the Chinese writing system (oracle bone script), early bronze casting, and the establishment of Confucianism and Daoism as influential philosophical schools.

The Western Zhou Dynasty faced internal strife and a decline in central authority, leading to the rise of regional powers. The last Western Zhou king, King You, faced numerous challenges, and his reliance on his favorite consort, Baosi, led to further instability.

Also Read: Qin Dynasty Facts

In 771 BCE, the Quanrong tribe invaded the capital, Haojing, and King You’s decision to light false alarms (Beacons of Yan) to call for help ultimately backfired, further weakening the Zhou rule. This event marked the end of the Western Zhou Dynasty.

(771–476 BCE) – Eastern Zhou Dynasty – Spring and Autumn Period

After the fall of the Western Zhou Dynasty, the Eastern Zhou Dynasty began with the relocation of the capital to Luoyi (modern-day Luoyang) in 722 BCE. The Eastern Zhou period is traditionally divided into two main periods: the Spring and Autumn Period and the Warring States Period.

During the Spring and Autumn Period, the central authority of the Zhou kings continued to weaken, and the feudal lords (nobles) became increasingly powerful. This led to a period of intense political rivalry and conflict among the various states, which eventually became known as the “Contending States” period.

The Spring and Autumn Period saw the emergence of several influential philosophers and thinkers, including Confucius (Kongzi), Mozi, and Laozi (founder of Daoism). These thinkers proposed different ideas about governance, ethics, and the nature of society, which had a lasting impact on Chinese culture.

As the feudal lords vied for supremacy, they also invested in military technologies and tactics. The era witnessed advances in warfare, including the widespread adoption of iron weapons and the use of cavalry.

(476–221 BCE) – Eastern Zhou Dynasty – Warring States Period

The Warring States Period was characterized by intense warfare and a significant increase in the number of independent states. The feudal system had broken down, and seven major states (Qin, Qi, Chu, Yan, Han, Wei, and Zhao) emerged as dominant powers.

The Warring States Period was marked by intense debates among philosophers and schools of thought. Notable thinkers included Mencius, Xunzi, Zhuangzi, and Han Feizi. The Hundred Schools of Thought flourished during this period, contributing to the rich intellectual tapestry of ancient China.

(221-206 BCE) – Qin Dynasty

Among the seven major states, the State of Qin emerged as the most powerful. Under the leadership of statesmen and military strategists such as Lord Shang Yang and later Qin Shi Huang, Qin gradually annexed and conquered its rival states, paving the way for the unification of China.

In 256 BCE, the State of Qin captured the last of the competing states, the State of Qi, effectively unifying China under the rule of King Zheng, who would later become Qin Shi Huang, the First Emperor of the Qin Dynasty. This event marked the end of the Zhou Dynasty and the beginning of the Imperial era in China’s history.